Google’s New Mobile Ad Policy

Mobile Marketing posted today in response to Google changing its mobile ad policies. The post is titled, “Google’s New Ad Policy – The Industry Responds.” I don’t deal much with mobile, but anything marketing and anything Google interests me. I was expecting a post filled with negativity about Google’s new policies. But I was pleasantly surprised.

I was not familiar with the new policies until I read the post. In short, the policies state that developers will be “responsible for how ads behave in their app” and there is a “list of restrictions to what in-app ads are not allowed to do.” Now I am thinking, “Alright, let’s hear it ‘industry.’”

Essentially it eliminates misleading in-app ads, and the ‘industry’ loves it! This protection absolutely benefits users – such as myself (I am eagerly awaiting the delivery of my Nexus 7 TODAY!).

This “don’t be shady” mantra applies for all types of marketing. Be honest, be true. If you act shadily one time, it could kill you. No amount of apologies or giveaways will make people forget you violated their trust. Honesty is the best policy – even if it isn’t the easiest policy.

Leave a Reply

