Yay Morale!

It is no secret – it is not easy out there. Whether you are talking about the economy, trying to get a job, trying to raise your child, trying to lose weight – it’s not easy out there.

For the purpose of this post, let’s focus on company morale. Even if your company only consists of two people, it is not always easy to stay positive. We all know the importance of keeping morale up even if the outlook is grim. So what to do?

I personally don’t have a great answer to this. Every person is different and every person reacts differently to situations. The one thing I cannot stand is pretending like nothing is wrong. It doesn’t help to walk around and ignore reality. It also doesn’t help to recruit “cheerleaders” within the company to try and tell everyone how great everything is. This will always come off fake and everyone will see right through it.

It is also not helpful to freak out about it. This is a fairly obvious statement, but trust me I have seen it. By over-reacting to situations, it shows instability and inability to overcome obstacles. No one will hop on board to save your sinking ship if you cannot control your emotions and reactions.

“So what, Aaron? I can’t be happy. I can’t be sad. What am I supposed to do?” Well, thank you for asking! Like I mentioned before, I really don’t have the cure-all answer. But I have an answer. One word sums it up: Honesty. Be honest. If times suck, be honest. If times rock, be honest. Your employees deserve this courtesy and have earned the right to the truth. You will gain a lot more respect and people will want to help if you are just upfront with them.

It’s so easy right! Why doesn’t everyone just follow my amazing advice? Well I really don’t know. But I do know being honest and telling the truth – especially if it isn’t particularly good news – isn’t easy. But it is the absolute right thing to do.

What do you think? What do you do?

Leave a Reply

